Posted on

The plague!!!

Yesterday I was feeling really weird at work, couldn’t concentrate and I started feeling really dizzy. I thought I had either drunk too much or too little tea. Either way, I decided to leave early because I was getting nothing done (I work in an office building). I passed out on the TTC, which is unusually for me, and it wasn’t until I got to Downsview and my throat hurt and the station was dancing in circles around me that I realized I was sick… again :(

I blame my adorable nephew Elliott, who I saw on Sunday. He kept coughing on our food and when I mentioned this to my sister – his mother – she replied it was fine because they were dry coughs. Fine is it??? I slept for about 10 hours last night, high on NeoCitran, and still had a hard time getting up and going to work and my throat is on FIRE!!! Yes, I’m still at work. I feel like death, but when I took my temperature it seemed in the safe zone.

Anyway, I’m positive this will only get worse because cold medicine seems to do little to nothing for me – even drinking vitamin C isn’t working. Last week I drank little more than orange juice morning, noon and night and still couldn’t fight off germs from a three-year-old. So does anyone have suggestions? Tips? I’m trying to hold this thing at bay through will power alone and I can’t miss anymore work.

[Edit: I was just reading the description on the tea I was drinking yesterday – Super Chocolate from David’s Tea – and it says it has “immunity-enhancing compounds.”]

Picture above: a liar!

About Elise Haskell

I am an English major at York University.

Leave a comment